The City of Suwanee functions under a Council-Manager form of government. Suwanee's City Council is comprised of six members, including the mayor.

Suwanee’s six Councilmembers are responsible for creating the broad vision for the City and fashioning and adopting policies and ordinances that forward that vision. Councilmembers approve the City’s annual budget, make appointments to various citizen-run boards, and vote on rezonings and variance requests. They also work cooperatively with various regional and state organizations to address issues of regional impact.

The mayor presides over Council meetings, votes along with other Councilmembers on issues, and often serves as Suwanee’s official representative at area meetings, ribbon-cuttings, and ceremonial functions.  The mayor signs the City’s official contracts and agreements.

A professionally trained city manager is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the City. Functioning as Suwanee’s chief operations officer, the city manager prepares the budget, manages staff, and implements the City’s broad policies.

City Council meetings usually are held at 6:30 p.m. the fourth Tuesday of each month at City Hall, 330 Town Center Avenue.

City Council qualifications

The mayor is elected by popular vote. Councilmembers run for specific posts, but are elected to four-year terms by a Citywide vote. Terms of office begin January 1 following the election. Elections are held every two years.

In order to run for mayor or City Council, candidates must:

  • be a Suwanee resident for at least 180 days prior to qualifying
  • continue to reside in the City throughout their period of service
  • be qualified to vote in municipal elections.

Suwanee's representatives at other levels of government

Jace Brooks has been elected to represent District 1 on the Gwinnett County Board of Commissioners.

Within the Georgia General Assembly, Suwanee is represented by Sen. Renee Unterman (45th District) and Sen. David Shafer (48th District) as well as Reps. Brooks Coleman (97th District), Sam Park (101st District), and Buzz Brockway (102nd District).

Nationally, Suwanee is within the 7th Congressional district and is represented by Rob Woodall. The U.S. senators representing Georgia are David Perdue and Johnny Isakson.